Ohh, Betsy!

My Pet Rock August 7, 2009

Filed under: Secret celebrity friends — Anna @ 8:41 am

Last night I sat down with child-like excitement to watch “Race to Witch Mountain”.  Disney, with those brilliant marketing schemes, made me as an adult NEED to see the remake of the movie “Escape to Witch Mountain” that I watched as a kid.  Do I remember the movie much? No.  All I remember are two kids with special powers (I was still at an age when I thought I could posses said powers) and an RV (all kids love the idea of an RV, right?).  But still, it was enough to make Brandon laugh at how giddy I was to watch this remake, with none other than Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson. (I realize he’s dropped “The Rock” but I think it’s more fun to say it that way.) But honestly, there is no other reason needed to get me to watch a movie other than the fact that Dwayne Johnson is in it.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a crush on Dwayne. I don’t think his acting ability is stellar.  He’s not that funny (well, he was pretty funny in that The Rock Obama sketch on SNL). But, I love movies with “The Rock”. Okay, so really, I’ve only watched like four total: “The Rundown” , “Walking Tall” (both courtesy of TBS and the male equivalent to a chick flick – fighting, male bonding, little to no plot, and of course a hot girl), “Get Smart”, and now, “Race to Witch Mountain”. Even still, those four movies make me think that I would really love to have Dwayne as a neighbor.  He’d be a great guy to BBQ with. If our house ever caught on fire, he could totally knock down the door and carry all three of us out of the house with one arm.  Plus, if there were any shady characters hanging around, he just needs to carry around a baseball bat (he seems to be really good at holding big sticks and using them handily) and they would run away crying. If he ever shoveled our walk, it would probably take him 5 minutes tops. And judging from his recent run of Disney movies, he’d be great with kids.

Truth be told, his facial expressions are probably my favorite characteristic. He has the eyebrow raise.

dwayne-johnson

He’s got the best furrowed brow.

dwayne-johnson_005

And last but not least, he’s got a really, really good sideways glance, especially when he’s giving the, “oh, no you didn’t” look.

st4.thumbnail

I love the Rock.

 

13 Responses to “My Pet Rock”

  1. Meag Says:

    Was Race to Witch Mountain good? I’ve been waiting to watch it with trepidation, because the original was such a big part of my childhood. (We lived on a farm with no cable and a limited inventory of movies).

    Vin Diesel is another person I think would be fun to have as a neighbour. He seems like he would know how to fix cars and have fun at a bbq.

    • Anna Says:

      Vin would totally be an essential at a BBQ.

      I liked the movie. I thought the kids they picked were great and you already know my feelings about the Rock.

  2. Lisa DeGraff Says:

    To be totally honest, I really think he is gay. Adam totally disagrees, but I am convinced of it. One of these days it will come out in the tabloids and you will say “Oh, Lisa was right”. Now, that said, I do think he would be a great neighbor.

    • Anna Says:

      I have to agree with you. It wouldn’t surprise me one bit. He has zero sexual chemistry with women on screen.

  3. jennaloha Says:

    But how was the movie? I thought about taking my kids to see it now that it’s at the dollar theatre but did I? No ah diddn’t-

    Maybe I’ll redbox it. Is it worth a dollar?

  4. jennaloha Says:

    By the way, I think it’s hilarious we both posted about celebrities at the same time. While it is true that I would like to be more like you in hundreds of ways, I did not copy you when I made my latest copa post. I didn’t read this until today. Swearsies.

  5. Natali Says:

    Funny! You crack me up. Did you end up liking the movie? We almost watched it last night-maybe another time. Let me know if he comes to live next door! 🙂

  6. Jeanettie boo Says:

    Jesse thinks the Rock is gay too. And he also thinks Vin Diesel is gay. I don’t agree. But I think it’s hilarious that both Jesse and Lisa think this. Perhaps they’re on to something!

    I love that you love him!! Har har!!

    • Anna Says:

      I don’t know about Vin but I tend to agree with the Rock being gay. Well, now that I think about it…maybe Vin is gay. Hmmm…I’ll have to think about that one for a while.

  7. Carrie Says:

    Can you smell what the Rock is cooking?

    He will always be the Rock to me. hah!

  8. McRae Says:

    I have the perfect movie for you to watch, “Be Cool” with “The Rock” in it. I don’t want to spoil it, but he plays a gay character and it’s freaking hilarious. I guess it’s sort of a spin off from “Get shorty” but I never saw that one. Watch it and tell me what you think!


Leave a Reply

