Ohh, Betsy!

How different the day is remembered September 11, 2009

Filed under: Seriously now — Anna @ 8:19 am

IMG_0014

The above picture was taken last October during our trip to NYC. It was the first time I had returned to New York after September 11, 2001.  As I walked up to the site, I was overcome and couldn’t stop the tears. I remember vividly the morning of September 11th. My roommate called me from her cell phone on her way to work and told me to turn on the television and I watched as the buildings fell. We stayed glued to the television for hours and I don’t know if I fully understood the way this tragedy would affect me.  I had no personal loss on 9/11 but I always want to remember those who did lose their loved ones. And when I saw the site in person, I visualized all the lost lives and I always want to remember it because I feel like I need to remember it. I want to remember the bravery and the resiliency of all those the died and all those who survived.

Last year, I was visiting in Utah on September 11th. That night, I sat with my best friend, Lisa, in her apartment. She was expecting twins – a boy and a girl. I was expecting too. We talked about how wonderful it was that we were both pregnant and how fun it was to be pregnant at the same time.  Later that night, I began to miscarry. That night and the days that followed were some of the saddest days of my life. I then truly understood the loss of miscarriage. It’s changed me forever.

Today, I found out that my dear friend from college had amazing news. Her husband received a new heart.  She reflected on the truth that “miracles happen”. And I believe it. Through adversity, comes strength. So as I go about my day, I will remember loss. I will remember strength and I will remember hope.

 

10 Responses to “How different the day is remembered”

  1. I wouldn’t take you any other way.

  2. kiyo Says:

    Anna, I’ve been thinking about you this week. It was a year ago that I last you. It’s interesting that I associated this Sept. 11th with my visit with you to Sugarhouse park last year. Miss you. Hope things are well.

  3. Jeanettie boo Says:

    You’re the greatest. Love you to pieces.

  4. Abby Says:

    I remember sitting in our apartment in the hours and days that followed 9-11 and feeling numb with horror at what was happening. We all just cried and cried. When I went to see the site in NYC, I too was overwhelmed with emotion. It still is such a terrible thing to remember, but I always will.
    I’m sorry to hear about your miscarriage last year. Those are so deeply painful on so many levels. From my own experience I give you lots of empathy and love. Wish I could just give you a big hug right now. Love you, my big banana.

  5. Katherine MW Says:

    anna. i love reading your blog. thank you for sharing such personal thoughts. i am so sorry about your september 11. but you said it perfectly, “through adversity, comes strength.”

  6. Tiffany Says:

    you are a great writer. i admire you.

  7. Lisa Says:

    Loved this post. Love you. You have made me a better person. Thanks for being you.

  8. jennaloha Says:

    I was glad to read about Pual’s new heart. I don’t know him but I’ve been worried aobut him since you directed me to his story. I’m worried about you, too, my sweet sister friend, and hope that news just as glad and just as miraculous comes from you soon-

    Love you!

  9. Marli Says:

    This was a very touching post. Thanks for sharing. You are so inspiring to me. Thanks!!

  10. Angie Ostler Says:

    I remember visiting New York in October 2001, about 4 weeks after 9/11. It was still literally a tomb and the moment the site came into my vision, I too couldn’t help but cry. The mood on the street was somber. There were still flowers and pictures plastered all over the fences. You could still see the rubble and dust (or maybe even smoke) rising. You could even see the smoke in the air as far away as the statue of liberty.

    I didn’t know you had a miscarriage. I had a hunch back when you did a post about something difficult you had gone through. I’m sorry (belated) that you went through that. I too know how hard it is and it is true that I don’t think you really understand how hard it is until you’ve gone through it. I love your positive outlook with this post!!


Leave a Reply

