Ohh, Betsy!

Poor Sport September 22, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Anna @ 8:32 am

Moving to Indianapolis the year the Colts won the Superbowl was eye-opening. For the first time, I lived in a city with a professional football team. I saw blue everywhere. Practically everyone in the city wore jerseys on game day.  I had to pretend as if I knew what game people were talking about because they assumed I had watched it. I actually knew what Peyton Manning looked like. It was a big change for me.

I grew up with Karl Malone and John Stockton leading the Jazz so of course I loved basketball. In high school, I actually played basketball (ha!), was a cheerleader (double ha!) and rarely missed a sporting event. I had school spirit. In college, I still went to football games but it was by no means a regular thing. The only time I had school spirit was when I would go to a game with our longtime rival. My sports enthusiasm began to wane.

I still like to watch sports live but I hate spending money on it. And watching sports on TV just doesn’t happen (except for the Olympics because I’ll watch that day and night). I’m pretty much a Cliffs Notes fan. Sometimes I prep myself before church so I don’t appear to be completely out of the loop. But, if you know me well, you’ll know that I only know the score because I looked it up after the fact or saw someone’s status on Facebook proclaiming the outcome. Sorry. I know it may be shocking and cause for alarm. Pardon my apathy.

Despite my complete lack of desire to watch sports, I am a HUGE sucker for sports movies. I love them. LOVE THEM. I get just as excited when I have a new sports movie in my Netflix queue as when I have a chick flick. I love the underdogs. I love the fighting spirit of the athletes. I love the team spirit. So maybe, just maybe I would watch more sports live on TV if it would have better cinematography, dramatic music, close-ups in slow motion and be over in under 90 minutes.

 

4 Responses to “Poor Sport”

  1. McRae Says:

    Amen to that Lady!! I felt the same way about all the New England teams (Red Sox, Patriots, Celtics) and I thought it was hilarious that Abby would come home talking about the game when she hadn’t watched it. Richard gets comments about his Red Sox hat all the time and he’s never watched a full game of theirs, it’s quite amusing!!

  2. justshireen Says:

    Hee! I just posted about my lack of interest in football which here in Indiana is pretty much heresay. As my twitter feeds and facebook page fill with football related updates I always want to scream “I DON’T CARE!”

  3. Jeanettie boo Says:

    Hey, I’m the SAME way. I used to write about the Jazz games in my journal back in the John Stockton/Karl Malone days, ha ha, but after that my sports enthusiasm disappeared and has never returned. I just like other stuff more, just like you. Thankfully, Jesse doesn’t care about watching sports, so I don’t have to deal with football on Sundays or any of that. I thank the Heavens on High for that. But I do so love watching the Olympics and extreme sports. I loved this post.:)

  4. Jessie Says:

    I really, truly hate sports. But I do watch the Olympics. Somehow that doesn’t seem the same to me. I hate, HATE how much money professional athletes get paid (and actors, for that matter). Anyway – that’s my own little silly thing.
    You might get me to play a little volleyball or ping-pong, though!

    I’d forgotten you were a cheerleader! Aw, fer cute.


Leave a Reply

