Ohh, Betsy!

Once bitten…or, um mitten October 6, 2009

Filed under: I'm a critic — Anna @ 8:11 am

I’ve made a reputation for myself for my…”critical dislike” of the Twilight Series Saga. Many know I have no love for the Twilight book. It was only the pressure of an upcoming book club meeting that got me to actually finish reading it. When I heard they were making a movie, I actually thought it would make for a better movie than a book because it just had to be better than the book. That was, until I saw the previews and I knew that I would have a hard time keeping a straight face throughout the movie. I ended up watching it and did have a hard time keeping a straight face. Let’s just say that I giggled a lot and not as in a “Edward is so cute” giggle. Though I must say I thought it did a respectable job keeping fans happy. But, since I’m not a fan, I shook my head at glimpses of the glittering vampire. So needless to say, there wasn’t anything really appealing to me about  books or the movie(s). I invite your dissenting opinions but be forewarned, I am firm in my beliefs against teenage vampire angst.

But out of all this car wreck of vampire hormones came one shiny ray of hope – the mittens that Bella wore in the movie. The 45  year-old woman  I overheard talking about how “hot” Jacob was in the upcoming sequel might argue, but the most beautiful thing in the Twilight series has to be these mittens. And after a Google search, I found that there were many people coveting those mittens too.

bella mittens

I can proudly say that I now have in my possession, just in time for fall, a pair of those mittens courtesy of my talented friend Lacey.  We did a little craft swap. I made her a bag and she made me these mittens. I think I got the better end of the deal but I’m not complaining. Now, if only I can pry them away from G as he has adopted them as a sock puppet named Duncan.

IMG_0010

 

16 Responses to “Once bitten…or, um mitten”

  1. Jessie Says:

    Those books are pretty lame, but I admit, they sucked me in for a short time…like book-candy. Nowadays I’m embarrassed to have them in my home – I hide them in the back of the basement bookcase.

    I hated, HATED the movie, but it gave my mom and sisters and I a great chance to laugh together. We giggled all the way through at its terribleness. My one sister who hasn’t read the books whispered:I feel like I’m watching the CW.
    Exactly.

  2. Jessie Says:

    Those books are pretty lame, but I admit, they sucked me in for a short time…like book-candy. Nowadays I’m embarrassed to have them in my home – I hide them in the back of the basement bookcase.

    I hated, HATED the movie, but it gave my mom and sisters and I a great chance to laugh together. We giggled all the way through at its terribleness. My one sister who hasn’t read the books whispered:I feel like I’m watching the CW.
    Exactly.

    Oh, and nice mittens!

  3. Abby Says:

    I read the books but hated them the whole time. Too many accounts of gritting teeth, breathless moments, and teenage angst. But I felt an obligation to read them (probably because at that time I was especially bored and thought they might be entertaining).
    Anyway, love the mittens. Wonder how I can get Lacey to make me some too…

  4. Jeanettieboo Says:

    As I’m sure you know, I adore the books. Ha. I’m not ashamed a’toll. I wholeheartedly enjoyed them. Those mittens really are ADORABLE. I may have to beg Lacey to make me some too!

  5. Laurie Walker Says:

    TOO CUTE! The, uh, mittens I mean. Looks like they’ll be super warm for the cold weather.

    I’m not a Twilight Fan, though I’m keeping the books around ’cause I promised my daughter she could read them when she turned 14. I want to be there to read them with her so we can discuss things. I didn’t even WANT to see the movie. Somehow I think it would have come off better if all the actors had British accents. Everything sounds better with a British accent 😛

  6. jennaloha Says:

    I can’t believe you don’t like the books. You know the author is Mormon, right? Or are you loosey goosey about Mormon authors?

    And the whole movie is such a beatiful shade of gray. It’s inspiring really. Even those gloves were gray- someone in wardrobe really knew what they were doing.

  7. Corinne Says:

    i can wholeheartedly understand people’s non-love for twilight… nevertheless despite my usually snotty tastes in literature, this series gave me delightful fantasy escapism brain candy and i truly truly love it. i am out and proud. i wish i were stephenie meyer… stay at home mom byu grad turned multi-millionaire storyteller and writer! don’t mind if i do, thank you very much. i think stephenie and i should be friends. i hope you still want to be my friend anna.

    • Anna Says:

      Okay so maybe I am a tad bit jealous of Stephanie Meyer’s success. Maybe I can come up with some hip, teenage melodrama involving werewolves or aliens…oh wait…

  8. Corinne Says:

    oh and yes please on the mittens!

  9. Lacey Says:

    Oh yes, it makes me happy! Hope you like them! Oh, and I’ve never used that yarn before …please, please tell me if your hands break out in an itchy rash!

  10. Love the mittens! I am an avid reader and find that I’m really not all that picky. I don’t read young adult novels often, but I just finished Hunger Games and the sequel Catching Fire, and those books have the same obsessive-quality that the twilight series has on me. Maybe it’s a young adult novel phenomenon? Unrequited love, impossible drama . . . I find it hard to put down. I am balancing them with the Somnambulist. Totally interesting Victorian-era book. Have you heard of it?

    • Anna Says:

      I actually read Hunger Games and Catching Fire. Hunger Games wasn’t bad. I preferred it to Twilight. Catching Fire got a little worse as far as cheese and melodrama. Haven’t heard of Somnambulist but I’ll check it out.

  11. Michelle Says:

    That pic with G and the mittens is DIVINE Anna!


Leave a Reply

