Ohh, Betsy!

The happy store October 22, 2009

Filed under: Seriously now — Anna @ 9:43 am

Well hello there. I still have a birthday hangover. This year was a great one. Much love was sent and gladly received. I’ve become like a camel when it comes to happy times – storing it up so that when I have down days, I have a little something to fall back on.

Last week came a little wave of bad news for people I love. Sad things happen. Difficult trials must be faced. Life is seriously one tough road. So maybe since I’ve stored up a bunch of love lately, I can spare a little to give to my friends in need.

If I may be so bold, when you’ve got some love stored up – make sure to share it. You may just find that you’re stock of happy will be doubled as a result.

 

5 Responses to “The happy store”

  1. Jessie Says:

    I’ve totally been soaking up the happy times lately. I had prenatal depression with that last pregnancy and was so scared I’d have postpartum depression once Eli was born (which I haven’t had before). Instead, I got the opposite – postpartum elation. And as my life got better and happier, I noticed some friends and family members’ got harder and harder. So I’ve been making a conscious effort to do for them what I wish someone would have done for me (like phone calls and little support moments here and there).

    Anyway – I agree. Thanks, Anna.

    • Anna Says:

      Jessie, I’m sorry to hear you had prenatal depression! I’m glad that’s changed and you are having postpartum elation (that sounds so delightful).

  2. Jeanettie boo Says:

    You definitely may be so bold. I like this camel thing. I’m gonna try it. Store the happiness in my humps. Life really is hard!! For everyone.

  3. Angie Says:

    Happy belated birthday! I’m glad you had a good one 🙂

  4. Anj Says:

    I love this post. I agree with your boldness. Do you remember the quote from your mission that was something like “a testimony is found in the bearing of it.” I think it works the same way with love & happiness. Happiness is found in the giving of it. It’s kinda my mantra.
    Life is wonderful, happy and sweet… so why not share the love?

    And as someone who’s had her own little “tough road,” the kindness of others during difficult times is invaluable. Now that I have been on the receiving end, I feel an urgency to give, give, give… and still somehow I seem to redeem more than I ever was able to donate.


Leave a Reply

