Ohh, Betsy!

It was just a dream November 9, 2009

Filed under: Seriously now — Anna @ 9:19 am

I had a dream last night that as I looked out the window to our back yard, there was a gigantic mountain basically in our back yard. Unusual for Indiana. No mountains here. It was a terrible storm with rain pounding down and mud started sliding down the mountain. Not unusual for Indiana. Lots of bad rain storms here. After the rain started pouring, the mud started sliding down the mountain and pouring into our backyard. Next, huge trees started getting uprooted from the mudslide and carried away down the mountain, crashing into our back yard. Then, big pieces of what were formerly other homes started flying down and crashing down around us. Everything narrowly missing me and my family as we stood watching from my house.

I once had a dream journal that had little tidbits of dream interpretation. The one thing I remember about dream interpretation is that dreaming about a house represents your own soul and self.  In my dream, my house remained intact throughout all this turbulence meaning that my soul and myself stands strong amidst the storms I must endure. I don’t think my conscious self has as much confidence as my sub-conscious self.

This dream came after a discussion with our home teachers. I was asked to share my favorite scripture. This was a task for me since I have many favorite scriptures and often, it depends on my phase of life. I picked Matthew 11: 28-30.

Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

Maybe in my dream, my house wasn’t my house after all. Maybe my soul was taking a little shelter from the storm in His house.

 

7 Responses to “It was just a dream”

  1. Brandon Says:

    That’s funny, I had a dream the same night that were not talking to each other after a big fight. What’s with the conflicting messages?

  2. JoAnna Says:

    Once again:
    Wow. Just wow.

  3. Dave Says:

    Um… How about Helaman 5:12?

  4. Natalie Says:

    That was beautiful Anna! Thanks for sharing that. I love that scripture.

  5. Angie Says:

    LOVE the interpretation. Very appropriate for the times. I wish I could remember my dreams.

  6. Jeanettieboo Says:

    Um, you have very deep and amazing dreams it sounds like. Most of mine are so messed up that I thank everything that I’ve forgotten them when I wake up. I’d be too disturbed if I wrote them down and analyzed them I think. Will you send some of your interesting and deep dreams my way pretty please?

    PS. Loved the symbolism in this dream, loved this whole story and scripture. Very well written and interesting.

  7. jennaloha Says:

    How firm is your foundation.

    I liked this.


Leave a Reply

